surguan - Promoting Indian Classical Music

Pandit Rattan Mohan Sharma


Rattan Mohan Sharma (14 June 1971) is an Indian classical vocalist. He sings in Hindustani style of music. He performs in classical music forms like Khayal, Tarana, Dhrupad, Haveli Sangeet, Tappa and also in light classical forms and folk music including Bhajan as well as Rajasthani Folk. He is an"A" grade artist on All India Radio.

Early life:

Rattan Mohan Sharma was born in Rajasthan to Padma and Mohan Lal Sharma. He is the nephew of classical vocalist, Pandit Jasraj. It was found that young Rattan had an affinity towards percussion instruments so till the age of 15, he also learned tabla.


Rattan Mohan Sharma hails from the illustrious Mewaati Gharana and belongs to the family of vocalist like Pandit Motiram, Pandit Maniram, Pandit Pratapnarayan, and Pandit Jasraj. He has performed solos in many concerts and festivals in India and abroad.

He performs regularly at the classical music festivals, Pandit Motiram Pandit Maniram Sangeet Samaroh organized by Pandit Jasraj and Harivallabh Sangeet Sammelan, Sawai Gandharva Bhimsen Festival.taansen sangeet samaroh gwalior.

Pandit Rattan Mohan Sharma was awarded the title “Acharya Varishtha” by Padma Vibhushan Sangeet Martand Pandit Jasraj

Music Director:

Also a successful music director and composer giving music to a number of tele-serials and private albums.

Guru-Shishya Tradition:

The ancient tradition of Guru-Shishya Parampara lives on through the many disciples of Pandit Rattan Mohan Sharma; his disciples are from diverse cultural and religious backgrounds and live in India as well as North America.

As one of the main Gurus of the Pandit Jasraj School of Music Tampa, and the Pandit Jasraj Academy Mumbai,

Some notable Indian disciples include: His son, Swar Sharma, as well as Shri Vikas Parikh & Shri Akshat Parikh.

Some notable American disciples include: Shri Aditya Shah & Smt. Christine Ghezzo.

Some notable Canadian disciples include: Shri Aly Sunderji & Smt. Kalpana Prasad.


Shankar Rao Vyas Award
Sangeet Maartand Pandit Jasraj rotating Trophy
Mewati Gharana Gaurav Puraskar
Acharya Varishtha Award (title)
Sur Ratna Award, Sur Mani Award
IWAF (gharana Award)
Tarana ke Badshaah (audience in Hyderabad gave this title)